five II 1/2

11:50

I look up to the sky and smile. Take a deep breath, inhale the air with all its particles whether of beauty or destruction. It’s a good thing I’ve brought a book to keep me company on the train. At least no one is going to talk to me, I haven’t been up for any conversation the last few days. Silence – is what I really enjoy, at least I can hear my thoughts clearly even though they give me a headache sometimes. I’ve made up my mind, I’m going to enjoy the small things.

Enjoy the moment. I thought to myself, is that even possible? How did we grow up so fast? Are grown-ups even able to enjoy the moment? Or do they just numb themselves and let go off of all the worries and duties for a bit.

I look at the railway display it says zero and immediately changes to delayed expected in two minutes. It doesn’t surprise me, and I’m not really in a hurry anyway. I still have my headphones on and my MP3 player battery is charged. It really startles me to see so many people, every single one of them holds an unfolding story. There’s a person with a suit and a suitcase, holding his Iphone 6s and hardly pays attention that he has crossed the yellow line, it’s there for a reason, one wrong turn and it could end his life. While, there’s a lonely old man, covered with a blanket to keep him warm in this chaotic change of weather. I wonder, did he even have a chance in this life to truly show his potential. Did he take the wrong turn that made him the way he is now? There’s this mother of twins holding them by their hands, one of the kids is quite vivacious, she hardly has a hold on him. I look at him, stare and smile. He looks back and starts laughing. How innocent kids are, I thought to myself. Who knows, what kind of future waits for him or his melancholic brother.

Tell me I will be released
Not sure I can deal with this
Up all night again this week
Breaking things that I should keep

The noise of an old steel vibrating hurts the ears in an eerie way. People gathering around making a shape in a form of a round. And somehow I’m not in the middle of that circle. I’m outside of it, patiently waiting to hop on the train. I look at the train approaching, the line that it forms in the speed of the light is fascinating, the sky as bright as ever, blue might after all be the warmest color. The surrounding mesmerizes me, or maybe the lyrics are the ones that mesmerized and numbed me for a bit.

12:20

I find myself in a crowded and unknown place. The architecture is outstanding and takes my breath away. Back in the days, people used to pay attention to details and would carve the structure of the building meticulously. It saddens me to see how we have progressed in technology but left aside the art of creating one of a kind structures. We would rather have a quantity than quality, nowadays.

Carpe diem. I thought to myself. I have not prepared for this city at all. I don’t want to be a tourist. Tourists are plain and obvious, with planned visits and short on time.  I want to be a traveler, to explore, to seize the day and enjoy.2016-08-12 06.57.37 1.jpg

Leave a comment